Healthy Living: My lifestyle changes

Hey guys! So as Summer approaches and all this lovely weather has started coming our way I’ve decided to jump on this healthy living wagon.

There are a few reasons I’ve come to this decision, I’ve lived a pretty reckless life when it comes to what I put in my body. I have an ‘addictive personality’ and in my near 21 years on this Earth I have slowly developed addictions to; Smoking, energy drinks, some foods and certain behaviours.

It’s gotten to the point where I can actually feel what it’s all doing to my body, from heartburn to chronic fatigue. All these little ‘symptoms’ have been building up and I can no longer ignore my body’s cries for help, so I’m making a change.

This isn’t the first time I’ve attempted to live better but this is the first time I’ve felt like I can actually do it!

Let me tell you about some of the changes I’m making;

  • Quitting smoking
  • Quitting energy drinks
  • Exercising/ working out more
  • Eating healthier

The aim of this is to not only get a smokin’ summer body but also to try and repair some of the damage I’ve done to my insides, to be mentally and physically healthier… To just lead a better lifestyle in general.

Over the next few weeks I’ll be charting my progress in each area to see where I’m improving and where I’m struggling, so hopefully even if I falter a bit, it won’t be too difficult to get back into it.

So far I’ve only been doing this for a few days but so far it’s going well! On the 1st April I drank my last energy drink, it’s been 3 days and I haven’t touched another one… This is the longest I’ve gone without one in years ( Literally). On Sunday I had a lovely healthy dinner, grilled chicken topped with cheese and loads of salad. Healthiest meal I’ve had in a long time and to my surprise I actually enjoyed it! Other than the drinks and food I haven’t changed much else yet, I’m trying to find the perfect workout (I’ve tried like 20 so far) and I’ve cut down a bit on my smoking but not a lot yet ( I’m a stressy person so that ones the hardest).

 

So what can you guys expect to hear about all this? Well for starters I’ll be posting on here each week how much I’m progressing and whatnot.. I’ll also be recommending some healthy meals for those who like me, have struggled foodwise.

I’m excited to share this part of my journey with you guys, the blog is actually one of the things behind all of this. Since doing this whole blog thing I’ve felt better and it’s made me realise that I can accomplish something ( normally I would have given up after a week but it’s been 4ish months and I’m still posting). It’s given me the confidence and strength to make these changes, I just hope I can stick to it!

 

Posts about my healthy living journey will be uploaded on Sundays.

If you have any advice or recommendations then please leave a comment below! I’d love to hear from you, wherever you are!

I know this won’t be easy, but with the right encouragement and support I know I can do it. I’m a strong person so it’s time I started behaving that way.

 

 

The Echo. x

Leave a Reply

