Blogmas Finale – NYE Edition.

Final Blogmas -New Year Edition.

Topics: Review of 2016

             Goals for 2017

             Happy New Year!

Let’s take a look at my 2016, the good the bad and the ugly.

My year started off pretty well, I was in a great relationship, in therapy and moving on with my life after the wreck that was 2015. In February I moved to Wales (again), to be closer to my partners family and for a change of scene. It was beautiful countryside all around this little town, all our friends were close by, it was convenient for a while. I made some awesome friends in Wales, people I really hope to stay in contact with. I wasn’t without my problems last year though, I was homesick and felt trapped after I lost my income and my mental health started to get worse again. It was an endless wave of financial issues, relationship problems and emotional damage, but it was still a great year. Things changed for me in 2016. I learnt my own self-worth, realised my strengths and became proud of who I am. I made progress with my mental health in some areas, and regressed in others. At some point during all of the chaos and sadness, I turned 20. I never thought I would make it to 20, not in a sad way, I just never pictured myself with a future. But here I am, 20 years old with a crappy education behind me as well as a small mound of debt, but I’ve still got time. I started this blog towards the end of 2016 with the intention of showing that something good came out of a crappy (few) year(s), I’m stronger now and a better person, I hope I can show at least one person that things get better, my life may not be that exciting on the outside, but when you’ve been through what I have, the calmness in life is the excitement.

I came to some important realisations this past year, some which seem obvious but don’t come easily to someone like me. Things like; Being a little selfish in life is ok, I’ve spent most of my life trying to please other people and now I’m done with that, It’s time for me to live for me and do what I love, make my own dreams come true.

Being single is actually kind of great, I don’t have to compromise and can spend my time how I please. Yeah I guess I’m kind of a loner, I don’t mind though. I’m not lonely, I always have something to do and never understand how anyone can be bored. It’s a part of living for myself, I don’t want to rely on someone else and honestly, I’m in no position for someone to rely on me.

2016 Taught me to live for myself, to be proud of who I am and to be strong. It also taught me that politics are A joke but you all knew that anyway!

Goals for 2017!

I have a lot of goals for this year, I never usually set any as I haven’t seen the point in previous years but I’m trying this new thing where I’m positive about my future, which is where the goals come in.

My goals are pretty simple, but to me they’re pretty important. It’s going to take a hell of a lot of self-discipline but if I can accomplish them then it’ll definitely be worth it. So far I’ve put together some goals for the start of the new year as well as some larger goals which could go on past 2017.

Be more organised and efficient! I love organising things, whether it’s a daily routine or just organising my work. I have the tendency to fall out of routines and end up messing up my whole organisation, so one of my goals this year to seriously work on that, sticking to routines and doing things on time. Hopefully having this blog will help with that as I’m going to start uploading content at specific times on specific days.

Cut down on smoking! Obviously this one is important an self-explanatory, I’ve been smoking longer than I care to admit and it’s obviously not going to do my health any good if I continue but it’s a process, one that I am now willing to undergo.

Be more active! I used to hate exercising, anything to do with sport, basically moving in general. I’m different now, I’ve realised the benefits that exercise provides in regards to mental health and would love to be more active. Last year I started using a 30 day workout app which was great and I’m probably going to use that one again ( if you type 30 day workout into any app store then a few good ones will show up). I always go for a walk each day, between 15 minutes to an hour but I want to do more than that now that I have the time!

Take more classes online! Taking free classes online is a great way to gain new knowledge in all types of areas, it broadens your perspective and allows you the freedom to see what you like and dislike study-wise. I’ve had a lot of trouble narrowing down what kind of career I’d like and these classes are a great way for me to see what it’s like to study the subjects I’m interested in pursuing in higher education.

Start budgeting my money! I don’t have a large income and have quite a few expenses as well as debts from last year. This year I need to focus on money management and getting my finances back on track. It’s not going to be easy as one of my issues is impulsive spending and the struggle of budgeting properly. I’m sure I’ll get there eventually.

Start saving! On the money theme, I’d like to start saving towards travelling, I love travelling so much and there’s so much I want to see in the world! I want to see everything so I’ve got to start soon!

The life plan! I need to start roughly planning how I want the next few years of my life to go, even if it doesn’t end up being right it’s good to have a plan in place, a goal to head for. So that’s what I’m doing this year, figuring out the next 10!

Those are my goals for 2017! I’m sure I have more somewhere in my head but those are the most important ones, that and making progress in my mental health but that’s more of a life time goal I think.

 

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

So far I’ve told you my goals and how my 2016 went but I haven’t told you what’s to come. Over the last couple of weeks I’ve been brainstorming topics and doing some research, there’s loads of things coming up such as; My reading list (recommendations), I’m going to talk about different cultures and education as well as Hair dying tips, make up tips and hacks. I’m going to be adding a few new things to the homepage as well as some possible new categories (blog). But hey, back to the New Year…

Did you know that 2017 is the year of the Rooster? No, I didn’t either until a Japanese app pointed it out to me. I don’t know why, but you needed to know that. I’m going to be spending the start of the year finding my niche in the blogging world, reaching out and improving myself and the blog. I’m encouraging comments and feedback, please feel free to contact me with anything!

I’m going to lead you into the new year with a bit of advice, don’t make resolutions, set goals. Resolutions get ignored year after year, for a reason. Goals are set with an end game in mind, something to strive towards, that’s why they’re better. Set goals for yourself and strive to reach them, make the most of your 2017!

With that I wish you a Happy New Year and I look forward to sharing it with you.

 

The Echo. x

Leave a Reply

