E.S – The Stigma

Hey guys, today I’m going to talk about something that’s always bothering me about mental health and the way people talk about and approach the subject. My family is no stranger to mental health, and recently it has occurred to me that there are going to be people who are suffering from mental health conditions, who still contribute towards the stigma by behaving as if they alone know what they are talking about, ignoring the fact that we all suffer differently. I have had a few different diagnosis’, I won’t post them all because it can get a bit confusing. My main point here is that whether you are suffering or not, you don’t know it all. Not everyone suffers the same symptoms or the same severity of them, It’s important that we, in the Mental Health Community, come together to break the chain of events. If you’re suffering differently than someone or more severely, that does not mean it is any better for them or worse. If you have been through some kind of trauma, your trauma is just as valid as anyone else’s. The trauma itself is not what defines the aftermath, but the way it is handled and coped with by all of those involved is. I have been through trauma that many people would think isn’t that bad, but for me, it defined the entirety of my childhood and teen years. You don’t know how the trauma has affected them, don’t EVER belittle someone who’s been through something, even if it seems like nothing to you, it could have been their entire world.

I urge anyone suffering, no matter how big or small, to reach out to others going through similar things, we need to be there for each other. We need to show the world that we as a community are trying, really trying to help each other and inspire more people to speak out and confront their problems head on! I cannot stress the importance of this enough!

NO ONE should feel like they are alone in this world, there are billions of us! If I could find each and every person who feels this way and just grab them by the shoulders and tell them they are not alone, then I would! I really wish I could but it’s just not feasible.

I’m just going to reiterate my point in case it was missed in the jumble about ^^

DO NOT BELITTLE PEOPLE WHO SUFFER DIFFERENTLY THAN YOU.

DO NOT ASSUME YOU KNOW MORE ABOUT THEIR ISSUES THAN THEM.

JUST BE A DECENT PERSON!

I hope that you all feel as if I’m someone you can talk too, about anything.

Big hugs for all of you brave soldiers!

The Echo. x

Leave a Reply

